Homewood House Museum
History – Located on the campus of the renowned Johns Hopkins University, the historic Homewood Museum was constructed in the Federal style beginning in 1801 originally completed in 1808. Intended as a wedding gift for his son, the property for the home was purchased by Charles Carroll, an original signer of the Declaration of Independence. While Charles Jr. designed and constructed Homewood House, Charles Sr. eventually reclaimed the property in 1824 due to his son’s enormous overspending on the project. The property remained in the family for several more years and was the birthplace of John Lee Carroll, Governor of Maryland.
Homewood House is included in the National Register of Historic Places and is also registered as a National Historic Landmark.
Homewood house has served Johns Hopkins as the University Faculty Club and administrative offices, but now houses an expansive furniture and art collection from early 19th-century Baltimore, and includes several pieces from the Carroll family.
The Lathan Company performed a complete restoration to the exterior at the building’s portico that included work on masonry walls, a vault, stone tile, and various other stone elements. A unique marble exterior stair was also cleaned and repaired, with new mortar joints to prevent water intrusion into the wine cellar below.